Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

One of my favorite meals of all time: stuffed peppers.  All shapes, all sizes, all types of fillings.  Today’s just happened to be vegetarian since I didn’t have any beef on hand!

IMG_0651

I found the LARGEST pepper I have ever seen (no, I’m not even kidding), at the farmer’s market yesterday for $1.  I was excited all yesterday evening and this morning because I knew what was coming for lunch!

IMG_0634

Those are full-sized knives.  THIS PEPPER WAS A MONSTER.  And oh-so-delicious.

First things first: preheat your oven to 400F.  Cut the top off of your pepper, and clean out the insides.  Place the pepper top-down into a glass dish, and pour a bit of boiling water around it.  Place in the oven for 15 minutes.

IMG_0635IMG_0637IMG_0638

While the pepper is roasting, grab a medium or large sweet potato, depending on your pepper size.  If the potato is quite large, microwave on high for 5 minutes, turn it over, then microwave for another 2 minutes.  If it is on the smaller side, a total of 5 minutes should make it sufficiently soft.  After cooking, spoon out the sweet potato into a bowl, and add your desired mix-ins.  I chose 1/4 cup of black beans, and 1/8 cup of oats, just for a bit of texture.  My chosen spices were italian herb blend, white pepper, salt, a touch of nutmeg and some cinnamon. 

IMG_0639

Stuff your pepper!

IMG_0642IMG_0643

Re-cap it, and place back in the oven for 10 minutes to heat through!

IMG_0644

IMG_0646

Enjoy!

IMG_0647IMG_0649IMG_0650IMG_0652

