Pumpkin Spice Donuts with Maple-Cinnamon Glaze

Yes, you read that right.

All of the best fall flavors in one delicious recipe.  I’m dancing, too.  And eating them.

IMG_0510

I go through about a can of pureed pumpkin a week (pumpkin smoothies, pumpkin oatmeal, pumpkin/banana bread, etc!), but I’ve never attempted the ominous “donut.” 

I also really don’t like fried foods, so I knew this donut would be the baked kind.  I wanted to make sure I got the texture right, though!  I hope you enjoy these as I have!

Preheat your oven to 350F and…

 

In a medium-sized bowl, combine:

1.5 cups of all-purpose flour

2 teaspoons of baking powder

1 teaspoon of salt

1 tablespoon of cinnamon

1 teaspoon of nutmeg

IMG_0482

In another, slightly smaller bowl, combine:

1/8 cup brownulated brown sugar (or just plain brown sugar)

1/8 cup granulated white sugar

6 tablespoons of egg whites (or 2 whole eggs)

1 cup of pumpkin puree

1 tablespoon of olive oil

1 tablespoon of vanilla extract

IMG_0483

Mix thoroughly!

Make a well in the dry-ingredients bowl.  Pour your wet mixture into the well.  Blend with a fork!

IMG_0489IMG_0490

Admire your pumpkin can….

IMG_0491

Okay, that’s not a necessary step.  But I love pumpkin.

So, here’s where you can either get creative (like I did), or, if you’re lucky and already own a donut pan, just use that!  Spray your pan with nonstick spray, and scoop the donuts into the compartments.  If you have a donut pan, it’s easiest to pour your whole mixture into a big plastic bag, snip off one of the ends, and squeeze the mixture into the slots of your pan.  Since I didn’t have a pan, this is what I did:

 

IMG_0494

After each donut was poured into the compartment, I made a little foil ball and shoved it into the middle, making sure it touched the bottom of the pan.

IMG_0493

IMG_0501

Into the oven we go!

Mine baked for 12 minutes.

As I waited, I whipped up the glaze:

1/4 cup maple syrup (I used lite, since it was what we had)

1 tablespoon of cinnamon

1 teaspoon of nutmeg

2 teaspoons of corn starch (to thicken)

IMG_0498

Out they came!  I popped out the little foil balls (be careful not to tear the bottom), and let them cool a bit.

IMG_0501IMG_0500

Next, dip them in the glaze, making sure to coat the entire top of each. 

IMG_0502IMG_0504IMG_0505IMG_0507

Sprinkle with powdered sugar…

IMG_0499

IMG_0508

Devour.

IMG_0509IMG_0512

Happy September!

