Turkey Chili

This is a super simple chili recipe that doesn’t take terribly long!  I love, love, love chili; it’s the best winter and fall food that I can think of.

Feel free to substitute your own vegetables in for this recipe.

This makes a huge pot of chili (I know, my measurements are so precise).  If I had to guestimate, I’d say probably 4 people.  I ate big servings of this over several days.

1lb of ground, lean turkey

2 large, peeled parsnips

1 large sweet potato (optional)

1 cup of sliced, white mushrooms

1 can of sweet peas

1 24oz can of crushed or diced tomatoes

1 24oz can of tomato sauce

3 tsp cayenne pepper

3 tsp chili powder

dash cocoa

Brown the turkey in the pot first, then add the parsnips.  I like to add in the tomato sauce at this point, turn the heat to medium/low, and let the parsnips begin to soften.  This usually takes about 15 minutes.  After, I’ll add the can of crushed or diced tomatoes, the spices and the sweet potato.  Let cook and simmer for another 10-15 minutes.  Finally, add the mushrooms and peas and simmer for another 5-10 minutes.

Belly-warming deliciousness!

